Review: Treatsie February Subscription Box

I heard about Treatsie from a fellow I follow on Twitter, @noahphex. He had posted a picture of a “Popbar” which is essentially hot chocolate on a stick. Sounds amazing, right? He told me he got it through Treatsie which is a start-up company that ships delicious treats to it’s subscriptions on a monthly basis for about $20 including shipping. The treats are all from artisanal candy and chocolatiers, which is a pretty amazing concept. I wish I had thought of it. I read that Treatsie got their start with the help of crowd funding, too. 2014 is a pretty dope time to be alive, I think.

Artisanal gets thrown around a lot these days, doesn’t it? Before I go touting whether these treats really live up to their name, I want to be clear about what artisanal means. Artisinal: High quality products made, usually by hand, in small quantities by traditional methods.

It’s taken me a while to post about the contents of the February box because we promised ourselves if we were going to spent $20 on 6 -7 treats we wouldn’t gorge the day the box arrived but enjoy a couple of pieces every week. We like to torture ourselves like that.

February's Box

February’s Box

While I wasn’t underwhelmed by the contents of the box, I guess I was expecting slightly larger pieces. The chocolate bars were 1oz, they’d fit nicely in the palm of your hand. For $15 before shipping, I’d like them to add an additional piece of candy in the box. That being said I am impressed with the quality of the candy.

My favourite candy in order:

1) Raley’s Confectionary Love Mix – these hard candies are made by hand in Florida by a dude who dropped out of medical school to make candy. They were so flavourful and had adorable little love sayings on them. I plan to order these again on my own because we enjoyed them so much. We’d enjoy just a few candies after dinner one week and it was the perfect treat. I didn’t like the cinnamon flavour so if I got one of those I’d promptly take it out of my mouth and hand it to Richard. I’m classy like that.

2) Eclipse Chocolate Cinnamon Brown Sugar Bar – WOW. I loved this chocolate bar. I don’t think I’ve ever had a cinnamon flavoured chocolate bar before and this was the perfect introduction. I wanted more! I hated having to share this one with Richard. Read this and tell me you don’t want to order this bar: Milk chocolate flecked with muscovado sugar, cinnamon bread crumb & ginger sea salt.

3) Neo Cocoa – We split the contents of this package. I enjoyed a rich almond butter truffle topped with smoked sea salt and Richard had the lime one. So rich! I’d love to try some of the other flavours and will probably order more from these chocolatiers too. Basically I’m going to get really fat.

4) Eclipse Chocolate Salted Dulce De Leche – I used to only ever eat white chocolate. Seems weird right? These days dark chocolate *is* my go-to but this chocolate bar reminded me how great and undervalued white chocolate is. Slightly crunch, probably because of the pretzel, and sweet.

5) Eclipse Chocolate Sea Salt Nib – This was my least favourite of the box. Not saying it was bad, I mean it’s delicious chocolate, but I think I’ve had other sea salted chocolate bars that are better.

So there you have it, Treatsie’s February subscription box. We’re signed up for March’s box which will arrive in a couple of weeks and you best believe I’ll be reviewing that one too.

2 thoughts on “Review: Treatsie February Subscription Box

  1. What a cool concept. It’s like a CSA box of farmers market’s goods…but for chocoholics! Brilliant. Curious to see what other goodies you get. I’m a big surprised that for that price you aren’t getting 1). moar chocolate and/or 2). bigger pieces.

Leave a Reply

